Hanidee

Proactiv Solution

Posted on: April 24, 2009


Proactiv Solution is one of most popular acne treatment systems. Its 3-step system created by Dermatologists Dr. Katie Rodan and Dr. Kathy Fields, is said to clear and help prevent acne breakouts. You’ve seen the infomercials, the ads in magazines, the celebrity endorsment and all those really convincing photos. But the big question is – does Proactive work for everyone?

I have tried a lot of acne systems, creams, gels – everything. Its really hard and frustrating when you buy products hoping that it will do something, anything at all, and yet, it does nothing. It can be really frustrating. Now before I get into my experience with Proactiv, let’s talk about their 3-step system.

Step 1 – Renewing Cleanser: A unique, oil-free formula with smooth tiny beads exfoliate dead skin cells and other impurities. Prescription-grade benzoyl peroxide penetrates pores, attacks and heals blemishes fast.
Step 2 – Revitalizing Toner: Refreshing, alcohol-free toner removes dead skin cells to help unplug pores and helps remove excess oil so your skin looks and feels refreshed. Soothing botanical agents gently balance your skin tone.
Step 3 – Repairing Lotion: A light, oil-free lotion with finely milled prescription-grade benzoyl peroxide heals blemishes, and helps prevent new ones. Advanced delivery system is safe for your entire face.

My skin is on the sensitive side and honestly, Proactiv didn’t work for me – it actually made it worse. I’m pretty sure it was because of the Benzoyl Peroxide (can cause irritations and allergic reactions), which is the main ingredient. First off, I don’t like the smell of it at all. The first day I tried the 3-step system, it wasn’t soothing to my skin and I didn’t see any difference in skin texture through out the day. Everything seemed normal until the next morning. My face got really red and I had new pimples. My face started to feel really itchy and dry and my skin started to peel after using it. So I stopped using it immediately and gave it to a friend who wanted to try it out (which the product worked for her, sadly). I started trying out drugstore products then went to more natural DIY remedies. Plus, I hear that there is bleach in Proactiv too, which is a big no-no. The Neutrogena 3-step system (which I’ll be reviewing later) works better than Proactiv, so I would recommend getting that instead. I also heard that Clean & Clear and Clearisil works too, but I’ve never tried it. Right now I love my aspirin-honey/aloe vera mask and honey-nutmeg-cinnamon spot treatment. My pimples are all gone and my scars are healing. Don’t believe everything you see in those infomercials. Proactiv Solution is not for everyone, especially if you have sensitive/overly sensitive skin. You’re better off going to a dermatologist.
Check out How I Cleared My Acne, Acne.Org, and Proactive for more information.


Tags:

Leave a Reply

NEW BLOG!

I HAVE MOVED SINCE 2009. PLEASE VISIT MY BLOG HERE HANIDEE.BLOGSPOT.COM

Wish List

STRIKE = PUAHAHA

KATE Gradical Eyes in PK-1
Laneige Eye Designer Cream
Laneige Strawberry Yogurt Peeling Gel
Lunasol Sheer Conrast Eyes in Coral Coral Lunasol Noble Shade Eyes in Red Variation Majolica Majorca Honey Pump Gloss
MAC Highlight Powder in Golden Nectar
MAC Beauty Powder in On A Mission
MAC MSF Blush in Improvise
MAC Graphic Garden Palette

Paul & Joe Whitening Serum
Paul & Joe Protective Foundation Primer
Paul & Joe Refreshing Toner
Paul & Joe Deep Cleansing Milk
PUPA 28 Piece Brush Set
Zamian Magic Gold Cacao Chocolate Mask





April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
